This is a pre production server

Culture Collections

Webinar in partnership with Sigma-Aldrich 

 Flask and card HOMEPAGE

What's in your flask? Global answers from authentication testing

 

Date Tuesday 6 October 2015
Time 6:00am PDT / 9:00am EDT / 2:00pm GMT / 3:00pm CET
Speaker Dr Amanda Capes-Davis, Chair of the International Cell Line Authentication Committee (ICLAC)

 

Watch the recording 

 

 

Cell culture underpins research throughout the life sciences. Continuous cell lines have been used as culture models for many cell types, and assembled into panels for drug discovery and development. However, problems like cross-contamination are quite common and can render some cell lines unsuitable as research models.

Misidentified cell lines can be detected through authentication testing and international agreement has allowed for all laboratories to compare their cell line stocks, resulting in a new wave of misidentified cell lines being discovered.

 

What will you learn?

  • learn about a global perspective on the problem of cell line misidentification and its implications
  • learn about the latest technology in authentication testing and its impact on reproducibility
  • learn about the requirements for publication and for reporting preclinical research

This webinar is for anyone working with cells in culture, but particularly researchers who want to attract scientific funding, publish results obtained from research using cultured cells or to ensure reproducibility of research.

 

 

Amanda Capes - Davis

 

Amanda Capes-Davis is a medical graduate from the University of Sydney. Amanda was the Founding Manager of CellBank Australia at the Children's Medical Research Institute (CMRI). She was a member of the ATCC Standard Development Organization ASN-2002 workgroup, which was responsible for drafting a written ANSI standard on authentication of human cell lines. Amanda currently chairs the International Cell Line Authentication Committee (ICLAC), a voluntary scientific committee that aims to make cell line misidentification more visible and promote awareness and authentication testing as effective ways to combat the problem.

 

Back to top
Copyright © Public Health England.

Please confirm your country of origin from the list below.

This is a pre production server